Water trapped inside rear door

The rainy season is coming. It’s been raining for 5 or 6 days now. Last Saturday, I even had to face puddle-Governor of Jakarta refused to call it flood- in front of Pancasila University, Lenteng Agung. I’m always afraid of puddle, especially with certain high, because I have a bad experience before. That time, my car’s engine was off in the middle of the puddle and refused to start. With some trick, somehow I could start my engine but that was scary and forced me to do that several times. And later I found my car was filled with water, just the right side from front driver to rear seat, which I didn’t know where it came from.

Last Monday, that scary moment was coming again when I heard the sound of water from my back. It sounded like coming from fuel tank but I’d never heard that before except when my car was filled with water several months ago. The strange thing was, my car wasn’t filled with water. Just the sound of water. so I pulled my car and check right rear door. I found drops of water under the door. So I swung the door open and close, and found more drops. Strange. I found water trapped inside my door.

This is just sample picture from internet. The holes are shown by arrows

I asked about this on mailing list and luckily found the answer. There were two holes under the rear door. Water was supposed to pass this holes. In my case, the holes was closed and prevented water to pass thru. May be these holes were sealed accidentally when I repainted my car. So I used a straw to rid dirt or anything that stuck in these holes and released the water inside.

About hiumatic

I'm just driver of my galant matic in Jakarta, INDONESIA. I just want to share my experience about the car and how to survive the traffic
This entry was posted in Tips & Tricks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

