HID conversion

The quality of galant head light was very poor. Accompanied by poor and old auto film, it was completely disaster. I could barely see anything at night. And when another car was passing from other direction, I was blinded by the light. Night riding was dangerous for me!

Some galanters on the net, suggested retrofit to projector light or changed into HID for cheaper option. Because there were lot of changes had to be made for my hiumatic, I chose second option. Besides, galant headlight shape made HID light pattern was safe enough without  interfering object like car from other direction or person sitting on the edge of street. So I picked up China HID Lamp with ballast worth IDR1 million offered by SACS, Pondok Gede with 1 year guarantee.

Finally for front window, I chose 3M Crystalline 70. It’s important for you to know what kind of auto film that fit for front window. Something clearer that help you seeing in the night and also slightly cuts down on incoming headlight glare.

Crystalline 70 (KS70)
Visible Light Transmission (VLT) : 68 – 70%
Infra Red (IR) Rejection : 97% (SPF 1700)
Glare Reduction : 23%
Solar Heat Rejection : 38%
Ultra Violet (UV) Reduction : 99.9%
Total Solar Energy Rejected : 50 – 59%

I learned that front window required highest VLT and highest solar energy rejected. Some countries had set regulation for this. VLT means that the more percentage, the more you can see while solar energy is more to avoid solar heat. The problem is when driving in a day light you have to wear sun glasses. Never mind because I drive more safe at night. Here are some alternatives for you:

V-Kool 70: visible light transmission 70%, solar energy rejected 55%;
Hüper Sech: visible light transmission 53%, solar energy rejected 54%;
Hüper Stark (Ceramic) 40: visible light transmission 42%, solar energy rejected 55%;
Llumar Clear: visible light tramsission 73%, solar energy rejected 39%.

I paid IDR1.4 million for KS70 from Hasta Service on Jan, 2010. Don’t forget asking discount from the owner, Ms. Toeti.

About hiumatic

I'm just driver of my galant matic in Jakarta, INDONESIA. I just want to share my experience about the car and how to survive the traffic
This entry was posted in Product, Tips & Tricks and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

