Changing Keys

When I bought used car, The first ritual was changing the keys. I’d been doing this ritual since my last car. I didn’t know about you guys, but for me this was important. Especially when I just received one key from last owner. I won’t risk losing the car and safety came first.

So I went to Mitsubishi and ordered one set of keys. If you’re planning to do the same thing, here’s what you’ve got.

Two master keys and the other is sub key

Yes, I got 3 keys, two on the left were master and the last on the right was sub key. The master key fit all locks, but the sub key couldn’t open boot lid (trunk) and glove box. It’s very interesting because when you left your car with parking lot attendant, you just simply gave them the substitute key. You could keep your precious things inside glove box and boot lid (you had to set boot lid lock in the locked position, otherwise they could open boot lid using the boot lid release lever from driver seat). Beside keys, all locks had been changed to match the new keys. It started from steering wheel lock, glove box, two front doors and boot lid.

If you are noticing that in the center, that is the main key. It’s also key less entry that allows quick entry to your car. Just press the button on the head like you open your car with remote alarm. You don’t have to insert the key on the door lock. The other keys cannot do this. So keep your main key on the good shape otherwise you will lose this function. I don’t use this function actually because I already have alarm remote and turn off this function.

For price information, just consult Mitsubishi because it ain’t cheap. Some  guys in Modcom say that they prefer good alarm than replacing keys like me when I mention the price, so I leave all to your decision.

About hiumatic

I'm just driver of my galant matic in Jakarta, INDONESIA. I just want to share my experience about the car and how to survive the traffic
This entry was posted in Tips & Tricks and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

